a place for sharing all things photographic and some things not

the fall of photojournalism

This has been talked about time and time again, the fabled end of photojournalism, and here is a rather dismaying (in my opinion) infographic on all things new and fashionable.

I’m not really sure what to think and time and time again I find myself questioning my desire to study photojournalism (hopefully at Mizzou’s J School). With the cutting of jobs all over the world, does it make sense to throw myself and my studies into a dying industry? I haven’t quite decided yet, but it’s something that I’d really love to do. I’m just hoping it’s still around for me to love by the time I graduate and get all that academia out of the way.

It’s quite scary to study for something that might soon be irrelevant or phased out, I’m not quite sure what I should be doing. Gotta take some time out to figure it out soon, I suppose.

Leave a Reply

